Gift ideas for gifting to someone with chronic illness.

Gift ideas for gifting to someone with chronic illness.

I wanted to put together a list ideas for gifting to those with chronic illness.  I know that Christmas can be a tough time for people with chronic illness.  However, I always love when someone buys me something that they’ve put thought and understanding into, something that is meant to make life with chronic illness more manageable or comfortable.  So if you know someone with chronic illness; here are my top gift ideas.

  1. Electric blanket or throw – A lot of people with chronic illness struggle with temperature control.  Since developing M.E I’ve really struggled to regulate my temperature and I find it really hard to warm up or cool down.  I suffer with constant icy skin and it can make muscle and joint pain worse.  I never thought I’d be someone who liked electric blankets, they seem dated…but I wouldn’t be without mine.  It’s one of the only ways I can warm myself up when I’m cold.  I use a full mattress covering underblanket that goes on your mattress and beneath your bottom sheet.  It warms the whole bed and I can put it on a few minutes before getting into bed.  It works really quickly and I don’t even need to have it on for half an hour before I’m feeling toasty and comfortable.  It’s a real life saver in winter.  Heated throws are a good option too, especially if you’re relaxing on the sofa and just need an extra boost of warmth. 
  2. Hot Drinks Maker – I have a coffee/hot drink machine that has made it so much easier to prepare hot drinks.   A lot of people don’t realise how just making a hot drink can be hard but in fatigue and pain disorders, it can be difficult.  I often can’t manage the energy needed to just stand and wait for the kettle to boil.  I also really struggle with muscle weakness so I struggle to pick up a kettle and pour it safely.  I like hot drink makers because it just involves putting a pod in the tray and putting a mug under the nozzle.  The water storage isn’t huge so I can fill it easily and it makes a drink in 30 seconds.  When my energy is low and I just need a hot drink quickly, it’s a huge relief to be able to make one easily and without much effort.  It’s those little things that allow me to be more independent and not rely on someone else to get me something.
  3. Pyjamas/ Lounge clothes – A secondary issue I experience with my M.E is allodynia which means I experience pain when wearing tight or restrictive clothing.  I know a lot of people with chronic illness who suffer with sensitive skin and pain to the touch.  So I find myself mostly wearing pyjamas or loungewear because it’s elasticated and it’s loose so it doesn’t set off my pain response.  I genuinely enjoy getting pyjamas for Christmas because I wear them so much and when you have chronic pain; any measure of comfort that makes you feel a bit more cosy or comfortable is welcome.  A huge hit with me is comfort bras because underwire really triggers my allodynia so sports bras and comfort bras that just have some padding but no underwire or clasps are another big relief.
  4. Automatic pet feeders – Pets can be a huge emotional crutch for people with chronic illness.  Chronic illness is very isolating and lonely so I know pets are an important level of support for chronic illness sufferers.  I couldn’t be without my pets and I’m lucky to live with family who take up a lot of the care responsibilities when I can’t.  But for people who don’t always have that support network, gadgets that make keeping a pet easier could be a really big help.  Automatic pet feeders are a great option because fatigue disorders make remembering things challenging at times, I often have to set alarms to remind myself of chores that need doing.  M.E in particular is a fluctuating condition which means you might be able to do something one day and then not be able to get out of bed the next.  Automatic pet feeders mean a chore is essentially done for you, saving you energy when you don’t have it and covering you when you are struggling to function.  Anything that helps someone with chronic illness live a bit more independently is a good gift in my opinion.  There are lots of pet feeders out there, with different storage capacities and timing slots so pick whatever works best for you or the person it’s for.
  5. EReaders – Chronic illness means spending a lot of time in bed or resting, it can be maddening not being able to do what you want to do.  I’m a massive bookworm and reading really helps me escape my daily life and that escapism is a huge mood boost.  EReaders are one of my favourite inventions because I can have all my books in one place, the device itself isn’t as bulky as an actual book and I don’t have to turn pages manually or hold a book open (which my muscle pain and weakness can make difficult).  Most EReaders allow you to enlarge text and change light options on the screen so it’s easier on the eyes and less likely to cause fatigue.  I prefer the paper-like screens on my EReaders because they aren’t too bright and it doesn’t feel like looking at a screen.  You can also do things like bookmark multiple pages, highlight quotes you like and it saves your progress in multiple books so you can switch between books depending on your mood.  It’s a really useful little gadget.
  6. Takeaway food gift cards –  A lot of the big food delivery companies do gift cards now which I think are a great gift option for someone with chronic illness.  There’s nothing worse than not having the energy to cook for yourself, feeling hungry but not physically being able to make yourself a hot meal.  Someone who’s experiencing a pain or fatigue flare-up may be physically unable to make themself something to eat.  I know I’ve skipped meals because I simply haven’t had the energy or capacity to make anything for myself and it’s miserable.  Takeaways can be a real life-saver for someone suffering with chronic illness.  A lot of people see takeaways as luxury but when you’re too ill to cook for yourself, they are more essential.  I know a lot of people who are disabled or can’t work because of illness struggle financially so ordering takeaways isn’t always an option.  So these type of paid gift cards make a really useful gift option for someone with chronic illness.
  7. Lap trays/ bed desks – Another useful and practical idea for someone with a chronic illness who may spend a lot of time confined to a bed or sofa.  It’s really hard to do anything from your bed without one of these.  When I was studying from my bed, I found it hard to use notebooks or computers comfortably.  You need a flat surface do a lot  of hobbies from bed.  Lap trays and fold up desks are really useful in this situation.  I used a small lap desk that was padded underneath so it was comfortable to use and not too big.  I also use the fold up tables that just go over your legs which can be really useful to avoid stooping over and getting back/neckache when using a computer or writing. 
  8. V pillows, lumbar cushions etc – Chronic pain can make sitting or laying in one position for too long impossible.  Supportive pillows can be a really useful thing for someone with chronic pain.  I couldn’t be without a v-pillow in my bed because I suffer with awful back pain; the way it can curve around my back and provide extra support helps my pain levels a lot.  I find lumbar cushions useful when I’m relaxing on the sofa because I often need that extra back support to be comfortable.  There are so many cushions and support pillows out there and they do make a really big difference to someone with chronic pain, so they make a thoughtful gift.  Just try and find what works best for the person you’re buying for, where their pain may be worse and what cushion would best assist or provide support in this area.
  9. Window bird feeders – Again, being confined to bed can be very boring and it can be depressing just seeing the same four walls for long periods of time.  I bought myself a window bird box when I was struggling with a flare up and I was sick of being stuck inside all the time.  It was just a square transparent box stuck to my window but it brightened my days up so much when birds stopped by.  I’m a huge animal and wildlife lover and I really miss those things when I’m bed or housebound for long periods.  Seeing these birds visiting my window everyday just lifted my mood during those times and let me feel closer to nature despite being stuck inside.  Birds are excellent and finding new food sources and telling all their friends so I had small flocks visiting in no time. 
  10. Streaming channel subscription – There are so many great streaming channels out there now and a subscription makes a great gift for someone with chronic illness who may be housebound.  Being housebound because of illness can be so miserable and lonely, it can really impact mental health.  I think any distraction is welcome in this case, anything that means that person isn’t just sitting with only their thoughts to keep them company.  Streaming services give someone with chronic illness a way to escape and think about something else for a while.  A lot of people subscribe to these channels and it’s an entertainment must have these days, but for someone whose stuck inside feeling ill, it’s a window to somewhere else.  That’s why a subscription to any of these channels is a fun gift option for anyone, but particularly for someone with a chronic illness who needs that entertainment and escapism.  

I hope this list inspires you if you’re struggling to buy for someone with chronic illness.  I think any gift that makes life a little easier or comfortable for a chronic illness sufferer is a great gift.  Just think about what they struggle with and how that struggle might be made a little less exhausting or painful for them.  I love practical gifts that allow me to be a bit more independent or make simple chores less energy draining. 

One thought on “Gift ideas for gifting to someone with chronic illness.

Leave a comment